BPD Awareness Month (SAD-Seasonal Affective Disorder) -May 2017-

 

SAD- Seasonal affective disorder, Now although this disorder is predicated around female stigma it actually affects both genders the same but the male side of the argument doesn’t get approached.

I guess because its less manly to admit you suffer with SAD, the stigma says woman get there SAD come on just before the end of winter times when the sun is less visible lets say compare a winters day to a summers day is in the visibility of the sun, Stigma surrounded by this disorder suggest that females begin to get there SAD symptoms when the sun is no longer in sight in a sense also if it happens to be a shitty day then the mood of the female is just that ‘Shitty’.

That I would say is true the last part I spoken about because it happens for me even with all my separate issues and main issues going around 24/7 the SAD does affect me quiet enormously if I’m honest, because even though I LOVE rainy days/nights my mind doesn’t like it because I get headaches and feel real shit like suicide shit when its like this, yet on a sunny sunny day I feel a lot better even though I HATE sunny weather but my mind loves it.

Its a total pain in the arse for me because what I like my mind doesn’t and vice versa. SAD affects me in a variety of ways it will either be a negative of even a positive depending on my mood which changes rapidly so it is difficult to pin point which state I’m in during the time of it hitting.

It does change my mood and outlook of the day rather quickly, I can be okay has best has okay I could describe and then it could go to being really cold or windy or cloudy and then my mood changes without me even noticing it and then I become to be very irritated and annoyed and general moody and then it leads onto other states of the mind which are all negative based.

Now I did say earlier it has positives, which it does but they are few and far between, it could be cloudy and horrible and my mood is very much that too, then it could become sunny and nice and pleasant and then my mood changes rapidly to an Okay state, NOT a happy and bubbly state but just to an okay state which is a way level up from where id began that day being moody.

I can then become happier within the day if it stays nice but the negative of this positive is when the sun sets then I just go back to my normal self which is neither happy or sad ,its rather just a nothingness, which is okay for me because that’s my normality but coming down from a high lets say to the nothingness is rather painful and upsetting because the nothingness isn’t a nice place to be but to then be there suddenly from a higher place its that more difficult to cope with.

Has you can see from my post SAD is a quiet significant issue for me personally and it plays a massive role in my mental health stance but it is basically the weather and us humans have NO control, a total of 0% in controlling the weather, (Now I no about the science stuff about weather but lets just keep on topic here, because me or you cant change the weather, even if some scientist can, me and you can’t)

So with that said this SAD is rather a pain in the arse because we have 0% control yet it controls us quiet heavily or controls me I should say. But I guess being aware of it, is a major bonus to help come over this hurdle.

Which I do think is entirely possible unlike other issues relating to mental illness, I think SAD can be sorted out with help, I’m sure of that personally. Now I’m going to show you the Clinical stance on SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder)

Seasonal affective disorder (SAD) is a type of depression that comes and goes in a seasonal pattern.

SAD is sometimes known as “winter depression” because the symptoms are more apparent and tend to be more severe during the winter.

The symptoms often begin in the autumn as the days start getting shorter. They’re typically most severe during December, January and February.

SAD often improves and disappears in the spring and summer, although it may return each autumn and winter in a repetitive pattern.

Symptoms of SAD

Symptoms of SAD can include:

  • a persistent low mood
  • a loss of pleasure or interest in normal everyday activities
  • irritability
  • feelings of despair, guilt and worthlessness
  • feeling lethargic (lacking in energy) and sleepy during the day
  • sleeping for longer than normal and finding it hard to get up in the morning
  • craving carbohydrates and gaining weight

For some people, these symptoms can be severe and have a significant impact on their day-to-day activities.

Id like to thank everyone who may of read my post today on SAD, hope this might of helped in anyway.

Leave a Reply

