BPD Awareness Month (Children Becoming Borderline)

Todays topic is Children Becoming Borderline, Now I changed this topic from what I had planned to do was ‘Stressful Childhood’ in relation to BPD, But their is very little information on this specific subject, So I chose this topic has a replacement. Now this topic is in relation to our children who’s parents have BPD, will their child develop it because its in the blood. So This topic will be fairly short with the information being not so long. So ill give my 2 cents in this because this is a giant worry of mine also.

So my fears are that my child will develop BPD like I have, because me and her mother have Personality Disorders, Mine is this BPD and her mothers is something else but it is Personality related, its not right or fair for me to name what that is because I don’t have her permission also its just not right in my opinion, But we both have PD issues now I’m using PD in the broader meaning, I am aware there is a world of difference between PD and BPD and other Personality Disorders, just wanted to make that clear sorry to be long winded, but I do have to make some things crystal clear because the misinterpretations that can ensue.

So me and her mother have PD issues and this is big worry of mine that my child will develop it because its in her blood, Not just from me but from the both of us, and us both we didn’t learn we have any personality issues until our mid 20’s when our child was already here and kicking ass :). So we couldn’t do anything about it, even tho we cant anyway, But it is a big worry of mine also my child has been diagnosed with ADHD, and I personally believe that is a seed of something that’s going to grow, so my child is getting all the help now at just 6, she’s getting help to manage this before it gets out of control, because if you know anything about mental health you know, one thing leads to another, and then the tree is too overgrown. So I’m hopeful that she will kick this whatever she’s fighting she will be able to kick its ass in ways me and her mother couldn’t because we was wayyy too late to be treated, it was over 20 years before we was treated, with my child its bang on early, nip it in the bud type, so I’m hopeful she can kick its ass and not be affected in later life with any mental struggles, that will hold her back in life if not in the physical has in work etc, but inside in her soul that’s the true stuff that matters.

You could have it all, Millions in the bank, a Supermodel Wife, A 6 bed home in the sticks somewhere, Garages full of cars worth £500,000 each, you could have all that and look in the mirror and hate yourself and wish ill on yourself, all that physical stuff means absolutely nothing if inside you feel like nothing. So I hope my child is able to kick this out and be able to live a somewhat peaceful life inside herself. Now I’m going to give you some info now on this subject, its short. But its worth a nice read.

Question: I have borderline personality disorder. Does that mean my children will get it too?

I have been diagnosed with borderline personality disorder, and now I am worried about my children. I have heard that BPD runs in families. If I have BPD, will my children get it too?

Answer:

Your children most likely will not get borderline personality disorder. It’s true that if you have BPD, your kids are at greater risk of having the condition themselves. But, there is also a good chance that they will not have it. And, there are things you can do to reduce their risk.

Is Borderline Personality Disorder Inherited?

There is research showing that borderline personality disorder runs in families. This is likely due to a number of factors. First, some part of BPD is due to genetics; if these are your biological kids and they have inherited a certain combination of genes from you, they may be more at risk to develop BPD.

Second, the types of environments that can put children at risk of developing BPD also run in families. For example, someone who is maltreated as a child is at greater risk to develop BPD. That person is also at greater risk of having difficulty parenting. It is hard to be an effective parent when you are struggling with BPD symptoms, and it does not help if you did not have good parenting models yourself.

However, none of this means that your children will have BPD.

While there is nothing you can do about genetics, if your kids live with you, there is a great deal you can do about environmental factors. And, there is evidence that environment has a very strong influence on whether or not people with the genes for BPD actually develop the disorder.

How to Lower the Odds

The first thing that you can do is to get treatment for yourself. People who undergo an effective treatment for borderline personality disorder under the guidance of a mental health professional can improve significantly. Some people no longer meet diagnostic criteria for BPD after they finish treatment. Having fewer symptoms means having more resources for effective parenting.

Once you are in treatment, you can also express your concerns about your children to your care provider, and ask them for help. Your provider can help you to evaluate your home environment and whether your symptoms could be affecting your parenting skills.

Your therapist may even be able to refer you to programs that help people build skills to be more effective parents. People with borderline personality disorder can be very effective and nurturing parents, but because the symptoms of BPD can be very intense, for many people this does take some work.

Id like to thank you for reading todays topic on Children Becoming Borderline.

Leave a Reply

