BPD Awareness Month (Paranoia)

Todays topic is Paranoia something that weather you have any mental illness or your so called ‘Normal’ we all suffer with paranoia with almost everything in life, regarding partners, children, friends, work, etc. We all face this issue of Paranoia weather its fair or correct or totally irrational and totally unfair, that’s pretty much irrelevant because we all suffer this problem, its how we deal with it that’s what counts. Now I’m sure every single one of us can admit if not in public, at least to ourselves we can all admit we all fall victim to this because we all do NOT handle paranoia correctly, weather its concouisly or subconcousily we all handle it in different ways but also most of us will freely admit we may of got something wrong because our paranoia lead us down a road, a road that is pretty much a dead end. Now I’m not saying no one handles it correctly because I’m sure there is some people who do, but iv yet to meet a single human being in my entire 28 years that handles paranoia in a positive or a non destructive way, iv yet to meet a single person who does this 100% of the time, now we all can make an considered effort to attempt this lets say 50% of the time or even 85% of the time but not 100%, because we are all Humans and has humans we are desgined with major flaws and paranoia falls into a basic human flaw in my opinion. So paranoia with mental illness is a Dangerous and Toxic mixture, its has toxic has a taking a recovering addict to the environment where that addiction is. 

Now most of us with Borderline do make the distinction during conversation about our minds & our paranoia like its a physical being because quiet frankly it might has well be for me personally my paranoia is something else for me its pure negative and destructive and it has its own ideals & everything that shape an individual my paranoia has it in its own way, but I do make the distinction between the two, between me and my paranoia, example if iv let my paranoia get the best of me with someone, hours later after an explosive argument I will tell that person, sorry it was my paranoia, Because with me my paranoia leads me down roads that are dead ends but they feel so right and okay and normal quiet frankly to be in the paranoid universe feels so normal to me and going against it is practically impossible like trying to go against breathing try has you may you will not be able to stop yourself from breathing. My paranoia can be from something innocent or something much more sinister.

What helps me with my paranoia is basically I just let it do its stuff and then knowing it will pass, but I must admit I do not fight it no more I do not waste my time or energy in fighting it because its a pointless battle, so I just go through the motions and let it do its stuff knowing later on I’m going to have to make up for the problems iv caused. You may be thinking while reading that section, that its like I’m taking no responsibility for my actions, if that is your through process, let me a sure you I take full responsibility for everything I say or do, no matter what state I’m in, I just let the state do its thing because iv learnt through time and through many heartaches that, that is the best way for me personally to get through it, now others will have different ways like mediation or therapy or even the non helpful ways that this life can offer us, such has alcohol and drugs, but I do not recommend them 2 things at all, there good for the here and now this second but the next 10 seconds , 10 minutes , 10 weeks, 10 months , YEARS later its not the good for you at all. Now I’m going to give you some clinical information about PARANOIA FOR BORDERLINERS.

Many people with borderline personality disorder (BPD) experience paranoia or paranoid thinking under conditions of stress. Paranoia is a term generally used to refer to intense beliefs of mistrust or the malicious intentions of others. For example, someone with paranoia may have the belief that the government is listening to their phone calls, or that their spouse is having an affair.

Paranoid Ideation in BPD

Episodes of paranoid thinking, or ideation, can range from mild and short-lived to very severe and chronic.

Some individuals with psychotic disorders, such as schizophrenia or delusional disorder, tend to have severe, chronic paranoid ideation that has no relationship to reality.

In contrast, while many people with borderline personality disorder do experience paranoia since it is part of the diagnostic criteria for BPD, it tends to occur only under conditions of stress or interpersonal conflict.

For example, an adolescent with BPD might see two of his friends talking in the hallway and develop the paranoid belief that his friends all secretly hate him and are planning to humiliate him. Or an adult with BPD might misread their partner’s cues that they want some alone time as a sign that the relationship is being terminated, and dwell on this belief even when a great deal of evidence to the contrary is presented.

At least one study suggests that while individuals with BPD differ from those with psychotic disorders in terms of their psychotic reactivity, which is their tendency to have paranoid ideation and other thinking and perceptual problems under stress, they do not necessarily differ from patients with psychotic disorders in terms of the intensity of the paranoia or other psychotic experience.

 

So, while people with BPD have short-term psychotic symptoms, these symptoms are not necessarily mild.

Stress Busters to Help Tame Paranoid Ideation

Because paranoia in BPD is worse when you are under stress, you may find it helpful to find ways to relax and work through your stress. Some popular stress busters are

  • Deep breathing. The advantage of deep breathing is you can do it anywhere, anytime. Sit or lie down, fill up your lungs slowly, and then exhale your breath back out slowly. Repeat.
  • Meditation. This practice has been around for centuries and while there are different techniques, most of them focus on quiet, calm, relaxation and focusing your attention. Different meditation methods can be found online.
  • Yoga. Like mediation, the focus with yoga is on calm, relaxation, quiet, as well as posture and flexibility. There are many free yoga apps and instructional videos online to instruct you how to do yoga on your own, or you can sign up for a class at your local gym.
  • Tai chi. Another ancient practice, tai chi was meant for self-defense but is used by many people now to relax and reduce stress. Like yoga, it involves specific poses, targeted concentration, slow movements and focused breathing.
  • Biofeedback. In biofeedback, you learn how to control things such as heart rate and certain muscles by having monitors attached to you so you can visualize and hear what’s going on in your body. By learning how to change your thoughts or emotions in a way to slow these mechanisms down, you help reduce stress.

Thank You for taking the time to read my post today on PARANOIA (for borderliners)

Leave a Reply

